<u>Minutes</u>

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

10 December 2009



Meeting held at the Civic Centre, Uxbridge

Councillor Shirley Harper-O'Neill (Mayor) Councillor David Yarrow (Deputy Mayor)

	MEMBERS PRESENT:			
	Councillors:	Dave Allam Lynne Allen Bruce Baker Mo Bamber Ann Banks Tim Barker Josephine Barrett Kenneth Bartram Jonathan Bianco David Bishop Mike Bull Keith Burrows Paul Buttivant George Cooper Judith Cooper Philip Corthorne Geoff Courtenay Mike Cox Brian Crowe	Peter Curling Catherine Dann Santokh Dhillon Tony Eginton Sid Garg John Hensley Henry Higgins Graham Horn Pat Jackson Phoday Jarjussey Sandra Jenkins Allan Kauffman Judy Kelly Liz Kemp Peter Kemp Mo Khursheed Eddie Lavery Richard Lewis	John Major Michael Markham Carol Melvin Douglas Mills Mary O'Connor John Oswell David Payne Ray Puddifoot Andrew Retter John Riley David Routledge Avtar Sandhu Scott Seaman-Digby David Simmonds Brian Stead Anthony Way Michael White Kay Willmott-Denbeigh
	OFFICERS PRESENT: Hugh Dunnachie, Christopher Neale, Chris Spencer, Jean Palmer, Jeff Maslen, Philomena Bach, Raj Alagh, Lloyd White, Morgan Einon and Nikki Stubbs.			
	PRAYERS			
	Prayers were said by Pastor Derek Page.			
24	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda Item 1)			
	Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bliss, Duncan, Gardner, Harmsworth, MacDonald, Rhodes and Sansarpuri.			
25	LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT IN HEALTH ACT 2007 (Agenda Item 3)			
	Councillor Puddifoot moved the recommendations as set out in the report. This			

was seconded by Councillor Khursheed.

Following debate (Councillor Cox) the motion was put to a recorded vote.

Those voting for: The Mayor (Councillor Harper-O'Neill), the Deputy Mayor (Councillor Yarrow), Councillors Allam, Allen, Baker, Bamber, Banks, Barker, Barrett, Bartram, Bianco, Bull, Burrows, Buttivant, George Cooper, Judith Cooper, Corthorne, Courtenay, Crowe, Curling, Dann, Dhillon, Eginton, Garg, Hensley, Higgins, Horn, Jackson, Jarjussey, Jenkins, Kauffman, Kelly, Liz Kemp, Peter Kemp, Khursheed, Lavery, Lewis, Major, Markham, Melvin, Mills, O'Connor, Oswell, Payne, Puddifoot, Retter, Riley, Routledge, Sandhu, Seaman-Digby, Simmonds, Stead, Way, White and Willmott-Denbeigh

Those voting against: Councillors Bishop and Cox.

Those abstaining: none.

RESOLVED: That:

- 1. the "new-style" Leader and Cabinet Executive [England] form of governance, as provided for by the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, be adopted with effect on the third day after the date on which the 2010 local elections are held;
- 2. the Head of Democratic Services be authorised to take the following steps in accordance with the requirements of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007:

[a] to secure that copies of a document setting out the provisions of the new governance arrangements are available at the Civic Centre for inspection by members of the public at all reasonable hours, and

[b] to arrange to publish a Notice in a local newspaper circulating in the borough which complies with the requirements of section 29[2] [b] of the Local Government Act 2000; and

3. the amendments to the Constitution, as previously approved by Council on 6 November 2008, and attached as Appendix B to the report, be confirmed.

The meeting, which commenced at 7.30pm, closed at 7.45pm.

These are the minutes of the above meeting. For more information on any of the resolutions please contact Nikki Stubbs on 01895 250472. Circulation of these minutes is to Councillors, Officers, the Press and Members of the Public.